Eligible For The Saudi Arabia eVisa

The Saudi Arabia eVisa is an electronic visa, launched by the Saudi government in 2019, that allows eligible foreign nationals to enter and travel within Saudi Arabia for tourism purposes. 

It is part of an initiative to promote tourism and ease the process of entering the country, in line with the Saudi Vision 2030.

Basic Eligibility Requirements for the Saudi Arabia eVisa

To qualify for the Saudi Arabia eVisa, you must hold a passport from one of the eligible countries, with a validity of at least six months from the date of entry. 

The eVisa is typically granted for tourist purposes, business meetings, and social visits. It's important to note that this visa is not applicable for work or studying purposes.

The eVisa allows multiple entries into the country and is typically valid for a year from the date of issue, with a maximum stay duration of 90 days per visit.

Checking Nationality Eligibility for the Saudi Arabia eVisa Program

To check whether your nationality is eligible for the Saudi Arabia eVisa program, you can visit the official Saudi eVisa website. Here, you can find a comprehensive list of all eligible nationalities.

List of eVisa Country

Age Restrictions for the Saudi Arabia eVisa

There are no specific age restrictions for applying for the Saudi Arabia eVisa. However, applicants under 18 years of age must travel with a guardian or an adult.

Saudi eVisa Ports of Entry

The approved ports of entry for holders of a Saudi tourist eVisa were as follows:


  • King Khalid International Airport in Riyadh
  • King Abdulaziz International Airport in Jeddah
  • King Fahd International Airport in Dammam
  • Prince Mohammed Bin Abdulaziz International Airport in Medina

Land Crossings:

  • King Fahd Bridge (Bahrain – Saudi Arabia crossing)
  • Al Batha (Emirates – Saudi Arabia crossing)


  • All seaports in Saudi Arabia were valid for entry with an approved Saudi online visa.

Visa Not Required for Saudi Arabia

Citizens of the following Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) member states enjoy visa exemption for visiting Saudi Arabia:

  • Bahrain
  • Kuwait
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)

As GCC members, citizens of these countries can enter Saudi Arabia without obtaining a visa and are allowed to stay for a certain period, typically for tourism or business purposes. 

However, it's essential to double-check this information with official sources as visa policies and agreements between countries can change over time. 

Application After a Regular Visa Denial

In cases where you have been previously denied a regular visa, you may still apply for an eVisa. 

The previous denial does not automatically disqualify you from obtaining an eVisa. However, it may be taken into consideration during the approval process.

eVisa Application with a Criminal Record

Having a criminal record may affect your eligibility for a Saudi Arabia eVisa. Saudi authorities reserve the right to deny entry to anyone with a criminal record, depending on the nature of the crime. 

It's recommended to consult with a legal advisor or contact Saudi embassy officials before applying.

Special Provisions for Minors or Children

Children and minors are also required to have an eVisa to enter Saudi Arabia. If they are traveling with their parents, the parents can include them in their application. 

If the child is traveling alone or with one parent, a consent letter from the non-traveling parent(s) may be required.

Applying for the eVisa from Within Saudi Arabia

The eVisa is intended for visitors who are outside of Saudi Arabia. If you are already in the country on a different type of visa, it is typically not possible to apply for an eVisa.

Processing Time for eVisa Applications

Saudi Arabia eVisa applications typically have three processing speed options: Normal, Rush, and Super Rush. However, the actual processing time may vary due to individual circumstances and the volume of applications.

  • Normal Processing: Normal processing is the standard option. This is typically the least expensive choice but also the slowest. The average processing time under normal conditions is about 3-6 business days. However, it's recommended to apply at least two weeks before your intended travel date to accommodate for any potential delays.
  • Rush Processing: Rush processing is a faster option for those who need their eVisa sooner. The processing time for this option is usually about 1-3 business days. However, this option is slightly more expensive than the normal processing option.
  • Super Rush Processing: Super Rush processing is the fastest option available. Applications are typically processed within 24 hours. This option is significantly more expensive than the other two, but it is the best choice for last-minute travel plans.

Please note that even with Super Rush processing, it's advisable to allow a buffer of a few days for potential unexpected delays. It's also important to remember that processing times are estimates and may vary.

Appeals and Denials of eVisa

If you are found ineligible for the eVisa, you can apply for a regular visa at the nearest Saudi embassy or consulate. It's important to note that the decision of the eVisa officer is final and there is typically no appeals process.

Applying for eVisa for Religious Purposes, Hajj, or Umrah

The Saudi eVisa does not allow entry for the purpose of religious pilgrimages such as Hajj or Umrah. To travel for these purposes, you would need to apply for a specific Hajj or Umrah visa through the Saudi embassy or consulate in your country. 

Strong Resilience: Saudi Arabia's Robust Fiscal and External Balances in 2023

In 2023, Saudi Arabia's financial windfall from solid oil revenue will continue as oil trades well above their fiscal breakeven price (US$65-75/b). Despite the price of Brent Blend slipping to around US$90/b, Saudi Arabia is expected to maintain a government surplus (9% of GDP) and a current-account surplus (US$141bn or 14% of GDP). The country will also retain significant buffers, including government deposits exceeding 10% of GDP and international reserves of US$469bn (equivalent to about 20 months of import cover), safeguarding against potential external shocks.

saudi aradia economic balance and buffers


The Saudi Arabia eVisa was available to citizens of eligible countries who were interested in traveling to Saudi Arabia for tourism purposes.

The Saudi eVisa is primarily designed for tourism purposes. It allows eligible travelers to visit Saudi Arabia for leisure, sightseeing, and attending events or conferences. If you plan to visit the country for business purposes, you might need to apply for a different type of visa, such as a business visa or work visa, depending on the nature of your visit.

The validity and duration of stay allowed with a Saudi eVisa can vary based on the visa type and the traveler's nationality. Generally, tourist eVisas allow for stays of up to 90 days, but it's essential to check the specific conditions mentioned in your approved eVisa for the accurate duration of stay.

As of my last update, it was possible to extend your stay in Saudi Arabia on certain visa types, including the eVisa, under certain circumstances.

No, holders of an approved Saudi tourist eVisa are required to enter the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia at one of several designated ports of entry. These include specific international airports and land checkpoints as well as all seaports in the country. The list of valid ports of entry can be found on the official Saudi government website or the website of the authorized visa processing agency.

As of my last update, the Saudi eVisa was a multiple-entry visa for tourism purposes. This means that once approved, travelers could enter and exit the country multiple times within the visa's validity period